Moving Files Based on Strings from Input Text File

Hi,

I am quite new to PowerShell, and I am struggling with what should be a simple script.

I wish to move files within a source folder to a destination folder, if part of their filename matches strings within a text file.

An example:

Source = .\SourceFiles
Destination = .\DestinationFiles
FileNamesToMatch = .\FileNames.txt

Source contains the following:

192.168.1.1:1234.png
192.168.1.2:5678.png
192.168.1.3:9123.png
192.168.1.4:4567.png

FileNames.txt contains:

I wish to move the files from Source to Destination based on a wildcard match from each string in FileNames.txt.

The following is code similar to what I want to achieve, however it is meant for a single string rather than the contents of a text file so it fails when passing it the variable $FileNamesToMatch:

$Source = .\SourceFiles
$Destination = .\DestinationFiles
$FileNamesToMatch = Get-Content .\FileNames.txt

Get-ChildItem -Path $Source -Filter "*$FileNamesToMatch*" | Move-Item -Destination $Destination

I hope this makes sense! Thanks

Your issue is that you’re passing the entire thing into the parameter and putting wildcards around it. You need wildcards on every entry. The string -Filter gets would end up something like this:

"*Entry1
Entry2
LastEntry*"

So you need to do this:

$FileNamesToMatch = Get-Content '.\FileNames.txt' | ForEach-Object {
    "*$_*"
}

Then -Filter will probably work, and if not, swap it for -Include. :slight_smile:

Thanks for the help Joel!

I had to edit it slightly as follows, but it now works :smiley:

$Source = '.\SourceFiles'
$Destination = '.\DestinationFiles'
$FileNamesToMatch = Get-Content '.\FileNames.txt' | ForEach-Object {
    Get-ChildItem -Path $Source -Filter "*$_*" | Move-Item -Destination $Destination
}

Nice Work!!