Modularizing DSC configs

Hi fellow Powershell-users!

First thank you all for a great resourceful website!

I work in the hosting business and we would like to implement DSC to our customer’s servers.
At first eyesight, we are properly not a good candidate for DSC because all the servers we administer could potential be unique and change upon request from the customers.
Yet we would like to try implementing DSC in a test environment.
The only way we can think doing this, is by making a DSC Config file for every server that we administer.
We are thinking of building our own tool to administer the many DSC Config files for easier administration and overview.
However, I watched a video with Don Jones where he said something about modularizing the DSC Config files. He did not mention how to do it and I have been searching for a way to do it.

Essentially, we would like to use DSC in a way like adding servers in multiple Device Collections in SCCM.
We see two options for that:

1. DSC Config file for every server, where the config files will be 95% unique
  2. Being able to modularize the config files. Still having a config file for every server, but the config file for the single server only contains unique features for that server and common features is stored in shared config files.

Hope you understand what I mean :slight_smile:

Any thoughts on how we should go on with this?

Best regards from Denmark
Stig Sörnsen

While this is something I am still trying to wrap my brain around, the DSC Team did a nice blog about this very subject a while back that you might want to check out.

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/powershell/archive/2014/02/25/reusing-existing-configuration-scripts-in-powershell-desired-state-configuration.aspx