Best practices approach to DSC architecture

Hey all, I’m very new to DSC as a whole, and I’m having a hard time wrapping my head around the approach. I’m trying to start small here, and essentially looking to create DSC configs to replace many of the GPOs we currently use.

When I build GPOs, I link them to OUs, and I make each GPO accomplish a single thing to keep it all modular. It allows me to re-use them in other places, and it makes it much easier to make changes and to troubleshoot.

I don’t know how to approach this from a DSC perspective. For example, let’s say that I hypothetically manage a Skype for Business infrastructure. I may want some settings applied to all servers, and some things only applied to Front Ends, Back Ends, Edge, etc…

It seems like I would want to use configuration data to outline all of the nodes and assign them roles, and then use the .Where statements to target the servers with the config stanzas.

I know how to do that, but it seems like a very poor approach. In the end, I’ll end up with a gigantic monolithic config that I’ll be terrified to touch (even though I have a test environment),

Is there a best practice approach to this? Should I have a different config with for each type of server role? Does that mean I don’t even need to use configuration data?

Just looking for some friendly advice here…

Thanks!

I’m not sure DSC is a good alternative to GPO. Have you read, “The DSC Book?” It’s linked from our Resources/eBook menu and might provide some better insight. But DSC isn’t designed for dynamic targeting, nor for a high level of modularity (albeit with some exceptions), nor for AD-based deployment. DSC isn’t really designed with client workloads in mind, nor is it positioned as a GPO replacement. Not yet.