Importing data from Excel workbooks

Hello,

PS Newbie here. Just wanted help in the PS excel reading workflow.

I want to do the below tasks using an excel file where I have two sheets.

• Create some user-lists
  • Add Users to user-lists

First sheet has UserLists

Second sheet has users to be added for each user-lists

I wrote the below crude code to do this task. I am able to create the user-list in my integreated document management software but I am not sure how to add users to the user-lists.

$sheet1 = Import-Excel "C:\Users\Me\Desktop\UserList.xlsx" -WorkSheetName "UserList"

foreach($row in $sheet1.rows)
{
    $input1 = @{
               UserList = $row.Name
               UserListDescription = $row.description
               }

#Create User List [This part works when run separately]

$userlists = New-PWUserListByName @input1

#Importing Second Sheet [Not sure if it works inside the loop]
$sheet2 = Import-Excel "C:\Users\Me\Desktop\UserList.xlsx" -WorkSheetName "AddUsers"

foreach($column in $sheet2.columns)
        {
#Find Users by Name and then Add Users to corresponding User List [**Need Help Here**]
        Get-PWUsersByMatch -UserName $column | Add-PWMemberToUserList -UserList $column

}
}

You like to make it harder than actually needed, huh? … :wink:

As we do not know the document management software and the according cmdlets you will have to explain what these cmdlets expect as input.

If you used Import-Excel you already have a list. You don’t have to make it a list again.

The format of your “AddUsers” sheet is wrong. It should be somethingf like this:

"Userlist","Member"
"UserList1","Person1,Person2,Person3,Person5"
"Userlist2","Person12,Person22,Person32,Person52"
"Userlist3","Person4,Person6,Person8,Person3258"
1 Like

Yeah, my format for AddUsers sheet was wrong. Thanks for correcting this stupid mistake. :grin:

I’m creating the list again because I need to use them for “UserList” and “UserListDescription” parameters (@input1)