I need help understanding this command syntax error

I have no experience with powershell. This command is issued by a python script. It gives an error I don’t understand. Can someone help?

> "C:\Users\mark\.platformio\packages\tool-mklittlefs\mklittlefs" -b 8192 -p 256 --unpack "unpacked_fs" "C:\Users\mark\apps\tiny\downloaded_fs_0x300000_0xfa000.bin"

At line:1 char:65
+ ... sers\mark\.platformio\packages\tool-mklittlefs\mklittlefs" 
-b 8192 -p ...

Mark,
Welcome to the forum. :wave:t4:

I actually wonder why you’re using PowerShell in this case. There is no PowerShell code at all. It’s obviously an external executable with its command line arguments.

It tells you PowerShell cannot parse it. And that’s logic because it is not PowerShell code. You could try to tell PowerShell to stop parsing by adding the stop parsing operator --% right in front of all command line arguments.

I don’t understand what you mean by powershell code. I’m just trying to enter a command line that executes mklittlefs with some params. Isn’t this like a bash command line?

PowerShell is one of the available shells on Windows. It might be easier in your case to use CMD instead.

I’m getting the exact same error in a cmd window. So there is some parsing error in both powershell and cmd. I need help to understand it. Here is the command and result again (some was missing earlier) …/

"C:\Users\mark\.platformio\packages\tool-mklittlefs\mklittlefs" -b 8192 -p 256 --unpack "unpacked_fs" "C:\Users\mark\apps\tiny\downloaded_fs_0x300000_0xfa000.bin"
'-b' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

Are you sure that this is the complete path to the executable you want to run?

BTW: That’s not a PowerShell issue. You may be better off in a Python related forum with “Windows awareness”. :wink:

Yes, I checked the path, it is correct. If I type

"C:\Users\mark\.platformio\packages\tool-mklittlefs\mklittlefs"