How to created multiple users in different OUs based on data from a CSV file?

Hello there,

I’ll start by pointing out that I am very new to PowerShell and to this forum.

So here is my situation:

I managed to find a script that created multiple users in AD based on a .csv file. Originally the .csv file included the following headers: CN,sAMAccountName,LastName,FirstName. I managed to add a Group header so that the created users are made members of groups based on what is on the .csv file.
It all works perfectly as I want it to. But now I want to add another header, “ParentOU” so that users will be created in or moved to the OU specified in the “ParentOU” column. That I was not able to include in my script and I am wondering if someone here could help me with that.

Sample .csv entry:

CN,sAMAccountName,LastName,FirstName,Group,ParentOU
John Smith,SMIJ030787,Smith,John,Class01,'OU=Winter2015,OU=Students,DC=Domain,DC=Local'

Script:

$dataSource=import-csv -Path "C:\Users.csv"
foreach($dataRecord in $datasource) {
$cn=$dataRecord.cn
$sAMAccountName=$dataRecord.sAMAccountName
$givenName=$dataRecord.FirstName
$sn=$dataRecord.LastName
$group=$dataRecord.Group
$ou=$dataRecord.ParentOU
$displayName=$givenName + " " + $sn
$userPrincipalName=$sAMAccountName + "@domain.local"
$objUser=$objOU.Create("user","CN="+$cn)
$objUser.Put("sAMAccountName",$sAMAccountName)
$objUser.Put("userPrincipalName",$userPrincipalName)
$objUser.Put("displayName",$displayName)
$objUser.Put("givenName",$givenName)
$objUser.Put("sn",$sn)
$objUser.SetInfo()
$objUser.SetPassword("SomePassword123")
$objUser.Put("pwdLastSet",0)
$objUser.psbase.InvokeSet("AccountDisabled",$false)
$objUser.SetInfo()
Add-ADGroupMember -Identity $group -Member $dataRecord.sAMAccountName
}

As you can see from the script code, I defined a variable $ou for the OU in which the user is to be created at, but unfortunately, I don’t know how to continue with the proper command to make it work.

Thank you for all your help,