Help with calling Powershell from another powershell

Hello, I am new to Powershell and need help with calling a powershell script. I have created an appication with AppDeployToolkit. It is deployed with SCCM and on initial install it saves my two powershell scripts Script1.ps1 and Script2.ps1 here: $envProgramData\company\checkpendingreboot.

Every morning at 10:00 task manager calls Script1.ps1 from that location. This script checks for pending reboot, pending file rename and uptime. It returns False if no pending reboot, pending file rename or up time greater than 5 days. If found it returns True and should call Script2.ps1. (Script2.ps1 should open a window notifying the user a reboot is required.) This is where I have a mistake in my powershell script. Here is what the code in Script1.ps1 looks like when it should be calling Script2.ps1.

#IF ($output.IsPendingReboot -eq ‘True’)
IF ($rebootpending -eq ‘True’ -or $Uptime -ge ‘5’)
{
$mainExitCode = 3010
“reboot pending detected” > “C:\ProgramData\company\Logs\Reboot_Pending_detected.log”
powershell -File “C:\ProgramData\company\Check_PendingReboot\Script2.ps1”
}

I am still learning so maybe my approach is totally incorrect. I would appreciate help.

Idontknow,
Welcome to the forum. :wave:t4:

Not a very wise choice of your nickname. At some time in the future you will be knowing and then it’s misleading. :wink: :smiley:

Maybe not incorrect but unnecessarily cumbersome.

First - why 2 scripts?
Second - when you want to call another *.ps1 script from an existing PowerShell session you don’t need to call PowerShell again. It’s enough to provide the script name/path.
Next - you may share the rest of your code. I could imagine there’s more room for improvement.
For example

You should use the proper automatic PowerShell variables $true or $false instead of strings as content for your variable $rebootpending. Then you don’t need the actual comparison. Instead you could use the variable $rebootpending directly.