Getting the path of a program

Hello, I am new to PowerShell and need your help. I am trying to write a script, that returns the path of installed programs. For example lets say, I have Excel installed on my PC, but I don’t know its path. The script should give me the path to Excel.

Buni0409,
Welcome to the forum. :wave:t4:

May I ask …
… is it really about Excel?
… whatfor do you need this infomration? What problem do try to solve?

Hello, no it’s not about Excel. I’m working in a big company and we’re using a specific programm. There is an option to open the programm with a specific configuration via CMD command. But for the CMD command the path to the programm is needed. Since every computer will have a different path to the programm, we have to find a way to get the path of a programm, so that the comand is working on every computer

So you’re starting a command line interface from another command line interface? :thinking: :smirk:

Why is that? Most “big companies” have managed environments and would very likely use the same path for all computers?

How would you find the executable if you don’t know where it is installed? :wink:

The path differs, since some users install it into folders, which use network paths. The user of course can manually get the path of his programm and execute the command then. But we want to automate that step for the user, so that he only needs to execute that command.

hmmm … so in your “big company” users have administrative rights to do whatever they want? … wow … I really wouldn’t like to trade places with you. :smirk:

Wow - what a weird way to install programms.