Getting service status on multiple servers

Hi All,

I’m new to PowerShell…

I want to check periodically for service status on several servers for specific services.
additionally, all these services not exists on all servers. for example, one server can have one or more services from desired list of services.

Not so sure what i’m doing wrong in below function but i’m getting unexpected results as
server2 does not having IISAdmin service on it but result show so…

can someone please advice what am I missing here? Thanks.

Function Check-Service ()
{
$arrServerStatus = @()
$arrAllSiteServers = ‘Server1’, ‘Server2’
$Servicestat= Get-Service -name ‘IISAdmin’, ‘BITS’
Foreach ($siteServer in $arrAllSiteServers)
{
foreach ($service in $Servicestat)
{
$srv = New-Object psobject
Add-Member -InputObject $srv -MemberType NoteProperty -Name SiteSystem -Value $siteServer
Add-Member -InputObject $srv -MemberType NoteProperty -Name ServiceName -Value $service.Name
Add-Member -InputObject $srv -MemberType NoteProperty -Name ServiceDisplayName -Value $service.DisplayName
Add-Member -InputObject $srv -MemberType NoteProperty -Name ServiceStatus -Value $service.Status
$arrServerStatus += $srv
}
}

Return, $arrServerStatus
}

Output

SiteSystem ServiceName ServiceDisplayName ServiceStatus

Server1 BITS Background Intel… Running
Server1 IISAdmin IIS Admin Service Running
Server2 BITS Background Intel… Running
Server2 IISAdmin IIS Admin Service Running

There are a lot of ways to do things, especially in scripting. For instance, when you search for a service that doesn’t exist, Get-Service produces a exception:

PS C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0> Get-Service -Name ServiceDoesntExist
Get-Service : Cannot find any service with service name 'ServiceDoesntExist'.
At line:1 char:1
+ Get-Service -Name ServiceDoesntExist
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo          : ObjectNotFound: (ServiceDoesntExist:String) [Get-Service], ServiceCommandException