get-windowsfeature on vhd file

Hi

I am just starting out learning windows server and hyper-v.I do know some powershell since before. I am using windows 8.1 and have downloaded a vhd-file with windows server 2012 r2 and installed in hyper-v.

However when I run this from my win 8.1 computer

get-windowsfeature -vhd 'Mywinserver2012.vhd' 

I get this error message:

get-windowsfeature : The target of the specified cmdlet cannot be a Windows client-based operating system.
At line:1 char:1

• get-windowsfeature -vhd ‘Mywinserver2012.vhd’
  •   + CategoryInfo          : DeviceError: (localhost:String) [Get-WindowsFeature], Exception
      + FullyQualifiedErrorId : WindowsClient_NotSupported,Microsoft.Windows.ServerManager.Commands.GetWindowsFeatureCommand

The cmdlet is, for some reason, not seeing the VHD as a target. Have you tried doing this same thing from a server host OS, against the server VHD?

Thank you very much for your reply. I haven’t tried from a server OS yet, right now i only have access to my client computer but I will be sure to try it from a server OS as fast as I can.

Reading the help now I see this, Does this means that the vhd-file gets “mounted” every time, and actually it is my localcomputer that is the “target” computer?

-Vhd
Specifies the path to an offline VHD. The path can either point to a VHD file, or to a location on which the VHD is already mounted by using Deployment Image Servicing and Management (DISM) tools.