Get Services but filter out lines that match lines from a text file

I’ve been asked to create powershell to report back any services on remote computers set to Automatic but Not running.

It returns lines of services shouldn’t be running, how do I exclude those lines?

My initial idea was to use text file that contains list of exclusions I’m not interested in, but how would I incorporate that into the command?

Would it be better to output the initial output to a file, then parse that output to remove lines I want excluding.

I have the command to get the services and output to a file…it’s the filtering out the rubbish I’m stuck with.

I’m very new to PS but willing to learn so any basic commands to get me started would be great.

David,
Welcome to the forum. :wave:t4:

OK.

With a filter condition. Usually Where-Object.

It depends pretty much on how you want to do it. You can use an input file and import it with Get-Content for example. Or you simply have it in your script.

No.

Cool. Please show it to the world! :wink:

We all started once. :wink: But it is beyond the scope of a forum like this to teach you basic PowerShell. You should always read the help for the cmdlets you’re about to use completely including the examples to learn how to use them. Then - if you get stuck - it’s best to ask a specific question about a particular piece of code you wrote. And for that you should share this piece of code.

When you post code, sample data, console output or error messages please format it as code using the preformatted text button ( </> ). Simply place your cursor on an empty line, click the button and paste your code.

Thanks in advance

How to format code in PowerShell.org <---- Click :point_up_2:t4: :wink: