Struggling to output services and computer name to output file

Hi Guys

Newbie here to powershell! I have a script which looks through servers and services listed in an array and stops and starts depending on input parameter’s. What i’d like to do is list out the service name, status and servername (variable $Servername) into an output folder. Below is the work line I have so far which lists the service name, status and startup type…now how do I add the server name? I’m guessing it real simple but my skills are not up to scratch yet nore can I find anything on the net.

Thanks

(Get-Service -ComputerName $server -Name $ServiceName | Select Name, Status, StartType) | Out-File -Append -FilePath “c:\Temp\output1.txt”

Hello Dave,

I would suggest using Invoke-Command for running commands against multiple computers. You could then throw the Computernames in a text file and make the process smoother as well. You will need to make sure PSRemoting is enabled in your environment. Invoke-Command by default will provide you with the PSComputername Property providing the server name you would like to see.

Invoke-command -Computername (Get-Content -Path C:\ServerList.Txt) -ScriptBlock {Get-Service | Select-Object Name,Status,StartType} | Out-File C:\Temp\OutputFile.Txt

1 Like

Another vote for Invoke-Command, considering that in PowerShell 7, the ComputerName parameter does not exist on Get-Service. So if you go to PS7 your script will not work as written.

1 Like

You might try something like this:

Invoke-Command -ComputerName (Get-Content -Path C:\ServerList.Txt) -ScriptBlock { 
    $list = Get-Service
    foreach ($item in $list) {
        $result = [pscustomobject]@{
            Name = $item.Name
            Status = $item.Status
            StartType = $item.StartType
            ComputerName = $env:COMPUTERNAME
        }
        Write-Output $result
    }
} | Export-Csv C:\Temp\OutputFile.csv

2 Likes