Get Home Directory Size for User

I’m very new to powershell and wondered if somebody might be able to help with an issue please.

I’m trying to return the size of a home drive for a specific user. The code I have come up with is:

get-aduser -identity 'userADname' -properties homedirectory | get-childitem homedirectory -recurse | measure-object -property length -sum

I’m obviously replacing ‘userADname’ with a relevant AD username.

The error I’m getting is:

get-childitem : The input object cannot be bound to any parameters for the command either because the
command does not take pipeline input or the input and its properties do not match any of the parameters that
take pipeline input.

Thank you for any help.

Looking at the documentation for Get-ChildItem (Get-Help Get-ChildItem), there are 2 parameters that can take arguments over the pipeline: Path and LiteralPath. Both will take arguments by PropertyName and Path will also take arguments by Value. This means that:

get-aduser -identity 'userADname' -properties homedirectory

Must produce a string object to use for the Path parameter, or some other type of object that has a property named “LiteralPath” or “Path” with a string value that can be used as an argument in the Get-ChildItem command. I would recommend taking your first section of code (copied above) and pipe it to Get-Member. This will tell you what type of object is being returned along with it’s properties/methods. This should explain why “The input object cannot be bound to any parameters for the command”

Once you have determined the object type, the next step would be to make any changes necessary to the input object so it can be used by Get-ChildItem. Recommend looking a PowerShell in a Month of Lunches chapter 9 specifically 9.5 “When things don’t line up: custom properties” for an explanation.

Thanks for your feedback Mike.