get Directory Size

Hi Guys,
I am new in Power shell. I will appreciate if somebody answer my question.
I am going to get the size of directory ( considering subdirectories , files and folders ) . Here the command which I used:
“get-childitem -Path c:\windows\temp -recurse | measure-object -property Length -sum | select-object Count, Sum”
but I think the size of directories with this command is a little less that size of my temp folder when I click on it with mouse and see properties. Does this command consider directory size ? or it just give me size of files on “temp” folder and its subdirectories?
Does “count” just show the number of files? How can I get number of files and folders?
Sorry for my English,
Thanks,
MM PP

Directories don’t have a size. The “size” of a directory is the sum of the sizes of the files contained in the directory. So the command is only giving you file sizes - because that’s the only thing it can.

If you have any hidden or System files within that directory tree, your current command isn’t taking them into account. Try adding the -Force parameter to Get-ChildItem.

Count will be showing both files and folders, as written, but as Don mentioned, only files will contribute to the Sum column in your output.

Don, and Dave, Thanks for precious information. It worked:)

Hi Everybody,
I am going to put my powershell scrip in batch file ( here is my batch file : c:\windows\system32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\PowerShell.exe -Command “Get-childitem –Path c:\windows\temp –recurse –Force | measure-object –property Length –Sum | select-object Count, Sum” > c:\myfolder\output.txt ).
When I run my command ( Get-childitem –Path c:\windows\temp –recurse –Force | measure-object –property Length –Sum | select-object Count, Sum > c:\myfolder\output.txt ) in powershell window, it works, but it does not work from the batch file. I worked on it several hours. Can somebody tell me why it does not work from batch file?