Finding recently modified files, and summing file sizes

I am new to PowerShell, and am struggling a bit with what is probably a fairly simple task.

I need to select all files that have been modified in the past seven days inside a directory and any subdirectories and their subdirectories. I then need to group the output by the directory containing the modified files, and sum the total byte size of the modified files.

I know how to do most, if not all of these things by themselves. There are couple of caveats, and they are what seem to be giving me the biggest headache. The directory structure can and will change from run to run (though the root will remain constant), therefore, I never know how many layers deep this needs to go. I also only need the files modified within the last seven days, BUT if there are directories/subdirectories that exist, and did not have files modified within this time period, I need them to show up too, and have something that tells me that the total number of bytes changed = 0 bytes.

Ideal output would look similar to:

C:\directory\A
     12345 bytes changed

C:\directory\A\a
     230495 bytes changed

C:\directory\A\b
     0 bytes changed

C:\directory\B
     0 bytes changed

C:\directory\B\a
     594 bytes changed

C:\directory\B\a\1
     230094 bytes changed

etc...
$directories = Get-ChildItem -Path T:\ -Directory -Recurse |
Select-Object -ExpandProperty FullName

$files = Get-ChildItem -Path T:\ -File -Recurse |
Where-Object LastWriteTime -ge (Get-Date).AddDays(-7) |
Group-Object -Property Directory

$totals = ForEach ($directory in $directories) {
    If($files.Name -notcontains $directory) {
        $sum = 0
    } Else {
        $sum = $files |
        Where-Object Name -eq $directory |
        Select-Object -ExpandProperty Group |
        Measure-Object -Property Length -Sum |
        Select-Object -ExpandProperty Sum
    }

[pscustomobject]@{
        'Path' = $directory
        'Sum' = $sum
    }
}

$format = @"
{0}