Return date of most recently modified file in each sub-dir

by Wickedemus at 2013-03-15 04:19:59

Hi

I am not a PowerShell coder, so I will be super appreciative if my question is answered fairly simply. I have a folder named Projects, in which there are many folders each containing project files and sub folders. Once a project has become dormant for over a year, I need to archive that project folder, and remove it off my system. Therefore I need a script to run through each project folder and its contents/syub folders to see when the last modified file date in any of its subfolders is, and return just one result for each main project folder and all its contents/subfolders. If the last modified file anywhere within in a project folder is over a year old, I know that the entire project folder can be archived, and will do that manually.

Therefore, I need a command to issue in PowerShell to do the dirty work for me and return a list containing the filename, last modified date, (and for completeness ake the full path) of the most recently modifed file sitting anywhere within each project directory, and it would be great to get it entered into a text file, sorted according to the date (oldest to newest result).

Thank you very much in advance for your help.
by poshoholic at 2013-03-15 06:10:04
Hi there,

You’ve come to the right place with your question. Fortunately, the answer to this is not too complicated, so it’s a good first PowerShell problem to start with.

First, I’m writing this post assuming that you are using PowerShell version 3. If you are using PowerShell version 2, then the response will be slightly different.

Suppose your projects folder is C:\Projects. You could get the output you need from PowerShell like this:
# Identify the folder you want to search
$projectsFolder = 'C:\Projects'
# Identify the location of the csv file that will be generated (this will be overwritten each time you run it)