File Copy - Check Hash *and* File Date? -Newbie

I’m new to powershell and was working on a script to copy files from one directory and subdirectories to another. I found an example script and was wondering about the reason to check the hash in addition to the file date?

In the script, the destination is checked for the existence of the same-named file. If that file exists, the hash is checked, and if it’s different the file dates are checked and THEN the file is copied over.

Thinking out loud, if the file dates are the same but the hash is different, I really wouldn’t know how to resolve which file to keep without opening both and checking them out. Otherwise, I’d just copy the latest file to the destination directory.

Can you all think of an instance where the file name and date would be the same but somehow the hash is different? I’m thinking that would be really weird, and rare, and as such I’m thinking of dumping that part of the code just to save some processing time.

Here’s the example script for reference: xcopy - Powershell Copy-Item but only copy changed files - Stack Overflow

Thank you for your help!

-dad

DADMODE1000,
Welcome to the forum. :wave:t4:

Without following the link at first … my general answer would probably be … well … it depends. :wink:

Usually when it’s about to copy a fairly amount of files or even just one bigger file the command line tool number one on Windows would be robocopy. For the vast majority of the cases it will provide you with the right option to do the job.

Only when it’s not enough to compare the metadata of 2 given files you could check the hash of both files. And it will only tell you if the files are exactly bit equal. It will not tell you what file is newer. If the files are bit equal it does not matter if one of the files is newer - they are the same.

Thanks for the welcome! :smiley:

I’ve seen robocopy suggested and I looked at the options and I couldn’t quite determine if it could be done: