Copy files and folders created yesterday

Hey All,

I(absolute beginner in powershell) have been trying to create powershell script powershell script to copy files and folders created a day before to another drive. The source is a some what complicated structure which has several folders and files under one main folder. The files and folders get created every day. Objective is to copy all the files and folders created a day before under the main folder to the mainbackup folder. I would like to run this script everyday to keep the main and the mainbackup folder in sync. So far I have come until here:

$source = “\main"
$dest=”\mainbackup"
Get-ChildItem -Path $source |
Where-Object {$_.creationtime -f (Get-date).Addhours(-24)} |
Copy-Item -destination $dest -Container -Recurse

This script works but it takes for ever and goes through every file and folder in the source and throws “already exists” message. Is there a way to only to look only for files created a day before or 24 hours before, and copy them to destination? Any advice is appreciated.

I have not tested this too much but I believe you want to use ‘-le’ instead of ‘-f’. I have never seen/used ‘-f’ before but you may just know something I do not.

Get-ChildItem -Path $source | Where-Object {$_.creationtime -le (Get-date).Addhours(-24)}

That -f is a format attribute not a filter.
'technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee692801.aspx
technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee692795.aspx

Hey,

Why don’t you use Robocopy instead with the /a

/A : Copy only files with the Archive attribute set.

you can incorporate that into your ps script

Hi there,

Thanks for the input. I am a newbie in powershell…good to know -f has been doing nothing lol :).

Hi Alex,