Dumping SQL Query Result to Text (quoting issue)

Hi, forgive me, I’m a PowerShell newbie, the cloud app we just migrated to has a CLI that integrates with PowerShell, so I’m trying to learn as fast as I can.

I’m trying to use the code below to export SQL Server data to a text file, which is later uploaded to the cloud…

Everything looks great, except that last field (amount) cannot be wrapped in quotes.

Import-Module sqlps

$startDateString = Get-Date -format "yyyy_MM_dd_HH_mm_ss"

Invoke-Sqlcmd -Query "select * from vw_MyView" `
    -serverinstance localhost `
    -database my_database | `
   Export-Csv `
   -Path "E:\MyPath\$startDateString MyTextFile.txt" `
   -delimiter "`t" `
   -notypeinformation

This is the actual output to MyTextFile.txt:

“Product X” “Customer 33” “45.11”
“Product Y” “Customer 14” “215.75”
“Product Z” “Customer 91” “16.32”

And this is the desired output to MyTextFile.txt (notice no quotes around last field):

“Product X” “Customer 33” 45.11
“Product Y” “Customer 14” 215.75
“Product Z” “Customer 91” 16.32

So I think my options are:

1. Have the SQL view export just one column, and do all the quoting and concatenating in that one field.
  2. Change the ‘write to file’ approach in PowerShell from Write-CSV to some other method.
  3. Keep the SQL and PowerShell Write-CSV the same, but parse/rewrite the output in a later step to remove the double quotes around the last field (complicated?)

I sort of like option 3 if it’s easy to do because I’ve gotten this far, and I just like this approach, but I’m happy to hear suggestions from the experts!

Thanks!

dwooderson36,
Welcome back to the forum. :wave:t4: Long time no see. :wink:

There’s nothing needed to be forgiven. :wink:

That shouldn’t be an issue for all tools able to work with standard compliant CSV data. It is plain text actually anyway.