DNS information

I want to get DNS information from hosts in a particular OU. I need the results to be put into excel. The only information I need is what ip address they are using for DNS. Once that is reported I want to set the DNS on the hosts from the particular OU.

I have been reading and thought I was making some progress with

PS C:\> Get-WmiObject Win32_NetworkAdapterConfiguration -computername xxxxxx | select name
, DNSServerSearchOrder
name                                          DNSServerSearchOrder
----                                          --------------------

{192.168.10.2}

However as you see the name does not return and this is only for a particular computer. I also cant seem to get anywhere with code that would get it to go to AD and a particular OU as well as export to excel…Any help or pointers would be appreciated. Again I am new at this so if it is something obvious that I am missing it is because I’m not always sure what exactly I am supposed to be looking for.

If you pipe the results to Get-Member you can see what methods and properties an object has.

Get-WmiObject Win32_NetworkAdapterConfiguration -computername xxxxxx | Get-Member

It doesn’t look like there’s a name property available.

Try:

Get-WmiObject Win32_NetworkAdapterConfiguration -computername xxxxxx | select PSComputerName,DNSServerSearchOrder

Any reason you’re setting it statically and not via DHCP?

To get the computers in a particular OU use the Get-ADComputer cmdlet and specify the -Searchbase parameter.

Get-ADComputer -Filter * -Searchbase "ou=computers,ou=marketing,ou=wales,dc=contoso,dc=com"

To export to Excel, use Export-CSV

You can get detailed help for all cmdlets with Get-Help .

Thanks for your reply.