Get WMI info from OU server collection

I have a simple problem, I need to know what servers are still running server 2008/R2.

I know that win32_operatingsystem’s “name” property contains the information that I’m looking for. I would like to be able to run Get-WmiObject against a collection of servers in an OU.

There are two problems that I’m having:

1. I can’t figure out how to redirect the output of Get-ADComputer to something that Get-WmiObject -computername can use. I’m new to PowerShell but I think the Get-ADComputer is outputting TypeName: Microsoft.ActiveDirectory.Management.ADComputer and Get-WmiObject is looking for TypeName: System.Management.ManagementObject properties. Here’s what I came up with but it doesn’t appear to work.
Get-WmiObject win32_operatingsystem -ComputerName (Get-ADComputer -filter * -SearchBase "OU=Member Servers,DC=Company,DC=Com" | select @{L="ComputerName";e={$_."name"}}) -Property name, csname | select csname, name | Format-Table -AutoSize
  1. My temp workaround: I was able to create a CSV that contains the list of server names. I was able to use the CSV to run Get-WmiObject against. However, the OU contains “dead” servers. So when I try to run get-wmiobject using the CSV-list of servers that came from AD there are connection timeouts and PowerShell waits a period of time to see if the dead server will respond. This really slows down the operation & we are working to clean this up. Until that happens, Is there a way to only pass the server names that pass a test-connection to Get-WmiObject?
Get-WmiObject win32_operatingsystem -ComputerName (Get-Content C:\Users\user1\Desktop\Servers.csv) -Property name, csname | select csname, name | Format-Table -AutoSize

Thanks for your time.
Jared