Copy certain folders (and subfolders) only.

by Adzzz at 2012-09-26 03:28:43

Hi all, I’m Adam… I’m new to the site and new to PowerShell scripting and this site looks pretty useful.

My experience with PS scripts is… well, I’ve written a couple of scripts to copy a few files and send emails following the copy, thanks to a lot of Googling, and have set myself a challenge to get another script written. My background is excel and access, VBA, and SQL and web stuff, although I wrote batch files many moons ago back in the old Dos 5.0 and 6.22 days, but am pretty rusty. I’d consider myself a beginner at powershell, but can see its potential for sure, and definitely want to learn more about it.

Anyway, here’s what I need. We have a database repository on our server, which holds our master versions of databases, which is set up as follows (here comes the lame ascii attempt at a folder structure):

toplevelfolder
–department1
----databasename.mdb
----databasename.accdb
----archived
------databasename-version1.mdb
------databasename-version2.mdb
–department2
----database1
------databasename1.mdb
------archived
--------databasename-version1.mdb
----database2
------databasename1.mdb
------archived
–department3
....etc

What I would like is to have a script to go in each of the department folders, copying each file [database], and keeping the folder structure intact. However, I want the script to ignore all folders called "archived", as well as the folder contents for these archives.

Ideally, I would like the script to work through any folders it finds automatically, rather than having to specify the folder names, as these could change, or could be added to. It should automatically disregard any folder called "Archived" (and any contents within these folders). Any files and folders found outside of these folders should be copied to another drive, keeping the folder structure in place.