Converting characters

i need some help with converting Swedish special characters like (ö,ä,å) to English when importing a csv file with employee’s names and roles in it. im new to PS so i dont know if im explaining this right or not…
because the system doesn’t accept non-english characters, my script should convert the characters to english version like this (ö=o; ä=a; å=a)
,is there any special commands for such things?

plaza,
welcome tot the forums.

… and welcome to the club. :wink:

As far as I know there is no builtin command to convert such charachters. We Germans often have the same issue with our German Umlaute.

But as the amount of special charachters is quite limitted you can use a simple chain of replacements to deal with strings containing special charachters. Here you have an example containing the most common German Umlaute:

$InputString = "Größter Übeltäter der Straße"

$InputString -creplace 'Ö','Oe' -creplace 'Ä','Ae' -creplace 'Ü','Ue' -creplace 'ö','oe' -creplace 'ä','ae' -creplace 'ü','ue' -creplace 'ß','ss'

$InputString.Replace('Ö', 'Oe').Replace('Ä', 'Ae').Replace('Ü', 'Ue').Replace('ö', 'oe').Replace('ä', 'ae').Replace('ü', 'ue').Replace('ß', 'ss')

Both of these commands will return the same string:

'Groesster Uebeltaeter der Strasse'

The “normal-replace oparetor wouldn’t have been suitable in this case as it does not maintain uppercase charachters.

1 Like

I PowerShellified this Stack Overflow answer.

$myString = 'Crème Brulée'
$newString = $myString.Normalize('FormD') -replace "\p{M}"
Write-Output $newString

We’re doing the same as described in the Stack Overflow answer. Normalizing the string so that Crème Brulée becomes Cre<accent>me Brule<accent>e' then using replace to remove the accents.

The regex uses \p to specify a character class match. In this case, ‘M’ which is diacritic marks. A full list of the classes can be found here.