Beginner PowerShell Website Integration

by NMayberry at 2012-10-15 09:26:45

Hey All,

I accepted a position a month ago to use PowerShell/PowerCLI full time and I am very excited to take a hobby to full time. After a month, I am looking at the possibility of needing to build a website that can run PowerShell/PowerCLI scripts. Coming from an Administrative background, I have very little experience with web development and need help with recommendations on whether I need to start on .NET, HTML5 or something else entirely. Appreciate any and all help on this.

Thanks,

Nathan Mayberry
by JeffH at 2012-10-16 05:23:22
Is this something that PowerShell Web Access that you can get with v3 can accomplish for you?
by NMayberry at 2012-10-16 07:50:33
I am trying to see if a webpage can be a UI for my scripts similarly to .NET enabling you to build a GUI. My limited knowledge on PowerShell Web Access is that it is basically a remote console. Is it able to pass information between a webpage and servers using PowerShell?
by Eric at 2012-10-16 17:58:59
take a peek at poshboard www.poshboard.com which was highlighted on the powerscripting podcast http://powerscripting.wordpress.com/201 … poshboard/
by DougFinke at 2012-10-18 07:22:58
Hi NMayberry,

Can you say a little more about what you’re trying to do?

Do you want to have a user go to a web page and the content is driven by PowerShell on the back end?

Here is a post I did for a UI using the JQuery Datable. This all happens on the client and may not be what you are looking for.
http://www.dougfinke.com/blog/index.php/2011/02/15/how-to-send-powershell-output-to-a-jquery-interactive-datatable-in-a-web-browser/

Thanks
Doug
by Eric at 2012-10-18 09:05:51
Nathan,