Basic working with CSV

I am new to PS. I have been trying to work with CSV and need your help to correct my crude code.

Header1           Header2
-----------       ------------
text1                 textA
text2                 textB
text3                 textC
$inputs = Import-csv -Path "C:\Users\Me\Desktop\Input.csv"
foreach{$input in $inputs)
{
   $Array1 = $item.Header1
   $Array2 = $item.Header2
}

#Add some items to arrays [Need correction]
$Array1 += text4, text5
$Array2 += textD, textE

#Display data in a Table format [Need correction]

Out-GridView $Array1, $Array2 

#Export to CSV [Need correction]

$data = $Array1, $Array2

$data | Export-Csv -Path "C:\Users\Me\Desktop\Output.csv" -NoTypeInformation

It’s not clear what you’re actually trying to do. Usually a CSV file content would look like this:

"Header1","Header2"
"text1","textA"
"text2","textB"
"text3","textC"

When you do an import like this …

Import-csv -Path "C:\Users\Me\Desktop\Input.csv"

… the output would look like this:

Header1 Header2
------- -------
text1   textA
text2   textB
text3   textC

and you could do something like this …

Import-csv -Path "C:\Users\Me\Desktop\Input.csv" | Out-GridView

You cannot take 2 independent and unrelated arrays and merge them magically together like you tried. What is it actually what you’re trying to do?

1 Like

I need to get the column data out of the csv file and use one column to rename some elements and other columns to populate their properties. Sometimes I also need to read the names of the elements and their properties (as arrays) and export them to CSV.

Import-csv -Path "C:\Users\Me\Desktop\Input.csv" | 
    Select-Object -Property Header1
Import-csv -Path "C:\Users\Me\Desktop\Input.csv" | 
    Select-Object -Property Header2

???

Import-csv -Path "C:\Users\Me\Desktop\Input.csv"  | 
    Get-member -MemberType 'NoteProperty' | 
        Select-Object -ExpandProperty 'Name'

… something like this?