At the end of my wits - Exporting data to MS Word 2007 form fields.

Hey guys,

I am currently having a problem that I cannot for the life of me figure out, Also I am extremely new to powershell, Watch the MVAs and I am currently on my first script.
The problem seems simple… but isn’t at least for me! so as my final try and I am going to reach out to you guys

Essentially I have written what was taught in the MVAs, Very basic reports for servers.
Currently I have it set up to get the Ram usage, Service status, CPU usage, Harddisk space and all that super basic stuff.
Its going to be doing alot more then that, But for now I want to make sure everything is working before moving on from the most basic of tasks.

I have all the results put into a log.txt file.

What I want to do is have it run, then export the results to to Word file, Now the thing is I have to use a Word document that has form fields I want to intelligently update those fields automatically and have it save.
I cannot for the life of me figure out how I can use PS to export the data to the .doc form fields, From my research I could use excel and a VB script, But is there anyway PS can do this?

Thanks in advance!

Yes, I just wrote a script to do this. First step is to ensure you have bookmark names updated in the template so that you intelligently identify the fields. You should be able to run this and it should enumerate all of the bookmarks:

$document = "C:\Test\Template.docx"
$Word = New-Object -Com Word.Application
$Word.Visible = $true

$doc=$word.Documents.Open( $document )
$doc.Bookmarks | Select Name, @{Label="Type";Expression={$doc.ActiveWindow.Document.FormFields.Item($_.Name).Type}}
#While the document is open by Powershell, you can go in here and run queries and commands
#against the document. For instance, if you have a dropdown and you want to see how the indexes are setup,
#you can run this command in the ISE prompt: