Assistance adding ADGroupMember for multiple variables

Hello,

I am very new to PowerShell and would appreciate some assistance on something that is likely very basic.

We use a script to onboard new employees and I need to make a modification but I am struggling with the appropriate formatting to accomplish what I need.

As the script is now, it will add AD Group Membership based on employee location and this is how we accomplish that.

if ($Office -eq "Location1") {
"Security Group 1","Security Group 2" | Add-ADGroupMember -Members $UserlogonName
}

I am trying to add a second variable based on employee type (ie. full time employee, contractor, intern, or temp) and want to add AD membership based on the combination of the office location variable and employee type variable. Below is one of the ways I have tried to accomplish this.

if(($Office -eq "Location1") -and ($EmployeeType -eq "Full Time")){
"Security Group 1", "Security Group 2" | Add-ADGroupMember -Members $UserlogonName}

if(($Office -eq "Location1") -and ($EmployeeType -eq "Contractor" -or $EmployeeType -eq "Intern" -or $EmployeeType -eq "Temp")){
"Security Group 3", "Security Group 4" | Add-ADGroupMember -Members $UserlogonName}

Could someone point out what I am doing wrong here? Any help is very much appreciated.

Thanks!

-Zack

Zack,

welcome to the forums.

when you post code, error messages, sample data or console output format it as code, please.

Here you can read how that works: Guide to Posting Code.

You can go back and edit your existing post. You don’t have to create a new one. :wink:

Thanks in advance.

This:

if(($Office -eq 'Location1') -and ($EmployeeType -eq 'Contractor' -or 'Intern' -or 'Temp')){

cannot work!! :wink:

If you want to combine multiple comparisons you have to compare each individual option to the variable explicitly. Like this:

if (($Office -eq 'Location1') -and ($EmployeeType -eq 'Contractor' -or $EmployeeType -eq 'Intern' -or $EmployeeType -eq 'Temp')) {