Allow certain Activesync devices

by santesp at 2012-09-06 07:28:48

Hello all.

I’m very new to powershell so please pardon the ignorance.

Here is my situation:
My company currently has our sales force equipped with iPads. We manage them through an MDM and everything works fine. The problem is that we have noticed that several employees have hooked up their personal devices to activesync to get corporate email on their devices. We want to close this off.
I already have the information to block iphones, android devices, etc.
The road block I’m hitting is that I want to block personal iPads but not our business iPads.

As a test, I wanted to block all iphones and then just allow a couple of people’s phones to see if it works. It seems fairly easy to do for one person but I will need to do something simialr for about 200+ people. I read about the powershell commands that can grab data from CSV files so I was wondering how to incorporate that.

This code doesn’t work, but in simple terms this is what i would want it to do:

import-csv c:\temp\test.csv | set-casmailbox –identity {$.name} –activesyncalloweddeviceid {$.device}

*the CSV file has 2 columns: name (contains alias name) and device (contains deviceID)

So my question is… how would I go about writing a command/script to whitelist device IDs for multiple users at a time?

Thank you very much in advance and sorry for the long winded post.
by DonJ at 2012-09-06 15:05:17
You’re only missing a small piece.

Approach it this way: Put only ONE DATA LINE in your CSV file, and see if your command works. If it does, then just do this:

import-csv c:\temp\test.csv | foreach-object {set-casmailbox –identity {$.name} –activesyncalloweddeviceid {$.device}}

The addition of ForEach-Object lets PowerShell work with multiple data lines, one at a time, in the CSV.
by jewrican at 2012-09-06 19:21:57
we had a similar yet different need to restrict AS devices. I decided to use a throttling policy to manage this.