Aggregate objects with different number of properties

I’m not a programmer so please excuse any misused terminology.

I’m trying to build a script listing properties for some user. I use a simple cycle to go over each user and construct a custom object containing the properties, then aggregate it. The issue is that most of these properties can be empty/non-existent and this causes issues on the aggregation part. To illustrate this, I have provided a simple example. Can you please explain to me why is this behavior and how to avoid it?

$obj1 = New-Object PSObject
 Add-Member -InputObject $obj1 -MemberType NoteProperty -Name "UserPrincipalName" -Value "user"
 Add-Member -InputObject $obj1 -MemberType NoteProperty -Name "Name" -Value "User Name"

$obj2 = New-Object PSObject
 Add-Member -InputObject $obj2 -MemberType NoteProperty -Name "UserPrincipalName" -Value "user2"

$arr = @()
 $arr += $obj1
 $arr += $obj2
 $arr

In this case, it is working as expected:

UserPrincipalName                                                                                                Name 
-----------------                                                                                                ----  
user                                                                                                  User Name 
user2                                                                                                                   

However, if I simply change the order of obj1 and obj2, the “Name” property gets stripped:

$arr = @()
 $arr += $obj2
 $arr += $obj1
 $arr

UserPrincipalName
----------------- 
user2
user  

The only way I can make it work as expected is to populate any empty properties with some value, but this basically doubles the code. There must be a more elegant way?

P.S. formatting is broken, sorry :frowning:

Hello Vasil!

You can use the -ErrorAction parameter to tell the shell what to do when an error occures.