Adding credentials to a script.

by john808 at 2012-11-20 02:15:22

Hi all,

I’m having some issues adding credentails to a script. I should add I am a noob to powershell.

To let you know about the script, it basically fetches information from remote servers about the hard drive size and space left. The script is from the MS repository and works fine. I’ve added "-credential" followed by my user name and this works fine except I’m prompted for my password for every server. This is no good as I want to automate the script and not have to sit entering my password 20+ times.

Having searched for explainations I’ve found some possible answers but don’t really understand them. I think the following link explains what I need but I don’t really understand it h**p://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/magazine/ff714574.aspx. Is this the correct way to achive what I want or is there another way?

I hope I’ve explained myself clearly, any help will be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

John.
by nohandle at 2012-11-20 03:45:42
To save the credentials in veriable do $credential = get-credential then provide $credential as argument to the -credential parameter.
To save the credentials to file you have to do $credential.password | convertFrom-secureString | out-file file

to load it back to the script you have to
load the password form file to variable using get-content and convertTo-secureString cmdlets
create a credential object $credential = new-object System.Management.Automation.PSCredential (string $username, securestring $password)

Important: the exported securestring can be imported only on the computer and under the user who created it.
by Infradeploy at 2012-11-20 03:53:23
Why not use the credential variable once, and use it for 20 computers to do things remotely in one script?
by john808 at 2012-11-20 04:32:06
Thanks for the replies.