AD / Import CSV Update Attributes Script

by ws2000 at 2012-12-07 17:47:21

Hello

I am attempting to modify some standard AD account fields with the script below. Sorry… I am a Powershell newbie. Please help me fill in the missing pieces to get it working correctly. Do I need to use a -Replace for previously populated fields? Is it better to use a –Clear parameter and start fresh? If my CVS file contains more attributes fields than I currently need to update in AD is it ok to just pick those fields with the script?

# Import AD Module

Import-Module ActiveDirectory

# Import CSV into variable $userscsv

$userscsv = import-csv D:\areile\Desktop\adtest.csv

# Loop through CSV and update users if they exist in CVS file

foreach ($user in $userscsv) {

#Search in specified OU and Update existing attributes
Get-ADUser -Filter "samaccountname -eq ‘$($user.samaccountname)’" -SearchBase "DC=subdomain,DC=company,DC=com" %
% { Set-ADUser $_ -Replace @{Division = $($.Division); Office = $($."Office"); City = $($.City)}
}

CSV File Example
SamAccountName Division Office City
GRogers Accounting Main Office New York
SRogers Admin Building #2 New Jersy

Thank you in advance
by DonJ at 2012-12-08 08:49:56
Using -Replace is fine - it’ll internally clear the attribute and put in the new value for you. And it’s certainly fine to just pick and choose what you want to update.
by ws2000 at 2012-12-08 11:31:26
Any ideas why the script doesn’t work for me? When I ran it I didn’t get any errors but none of the test users where updated either.
by DonJ at 2012-12-08 11:52:37
It’s actually doing exactly what you told it to ;). It definitely updated them - it just set them to their existing values, so there was no change.

Firs, the following line should end in a pipe, not a %…

Get-ADUser -Filter "samaccountname -eq ‘$($user.samaccountname)’" -SearchBase "DC=subdomain,DC=company,DC=com" %

That was probably just a typo here int he forums, I’m guessing.

In the ForEach-Object block below, $