Active Directory - Search for a particular value in name of MEMBER OF

In Active Directory, Would like to look at all users in one particular OU,

Look at value in: MEMBER OF,

Get all members that contain “Something” in value in name of MEMBER OF

then show user’s name and the value in name of MEMBER OF.

I know I would use like this:

-searchbase “OU=Somethingx,OU=Something,OU=Something,DC=Something,DC=Something,DC=net”

I am pretty green at this, I am studying several books.

Then, later I want to search several OU 's and the output would show OU, Name of user, Name & whole value in name of MEMBER OF which contains “Something”

I think I would use this? Get-ADGroupMember

Thanks, This would be useful for us here at work.

MemberOf is a property of a user, so you need to specify that you want that when performing the query. Once you have the user information including MemberOf, then you can just filter the array:

$users = Get-ADUser -Filter * -searchbase "OU=Somethingx,OU=Something,OU=Something,DC=Something,DC=Something,DC=net" -Properties MemberOf |
Where-Object -FilterScript {$_.MemberOf -like '*Something*'}

Ideally, you want to filter left meaning rather than returning all users with Filter * and then filtering, it’s better to Filter to only get what you want from Get-ADUser. Per Richard Meuller on this forum:

You cannot use a wildcard in a filter with any DN syntax attribute, like memberOf, member, or distinguishedName. You can only use the -eq and -ne operators with DN syntax attributes. The only workaround is to pipe to a Where clause.

But that is only the -Filter param with that limitation, I think that you can also use the LDAP filter to only return what you want like so:

$params = @{
    LDAPFilter = (&(objectClass=user)(memberOf='cn=Something,ou=Groups,o=<org>,DC=Something,DC=Something,DC=net')) 
    SearchBase = "OU=Somethingx,OU=Something,OU=Something,DC=Something,DC=Something,DC=net"
    Properties = 'MemberOf'
}

$users = Get-ADUser @params