Writing my first powershell script - running Powershell on a linux machine

Hi,

I am a complete PS novice! The task to be coded/automated using powershell is: install a package on a linux VM remotely from a Windows VM. This is the first in many steps that will follow and will be automated using powershell.

The flow is something like this:

Input params for the script (either on command line or via an input file) will be:

• Hostname of target server
  • IP of target server
  • Login credentials
Flow:
  • Find out the OS of the machine. If Windows, report that it is Windows and exit.
  • If it is Linux, find out the flavour - RedHat, SUSE, Debian, etc
  • Check for DNS forward and reverse resolution. Report error if it is not working
  • Based on flavour, download the appropriate package from a https link
  • Install the package using yum, zypper, etc as based on linux flavour.
There should be error handling/reporting throughtout.

Considering we are talking of running the script from a Windows on Linux machines, I had the following doubts:

1. Can we directly login to a remote Linux machine using ssh from PS (since Linux will anyway have OpenSSH by default) and run commands? Or will it need Powershell Core to be installed on both the source Windows machine and destination Linux machine?
  2. Is there a simpler way to figure out the OS of the remote machine prior to logging in?
And of course, I actually need help with the whole code? Would that be asking too much?!

Thanks/PV