Write-Information concatenate string and variable

Hello And Welcome :slight_smile:

I’m completely new to PowerShell so please be patient for me :wink:

I try to write to console string “Name:” and parameter returned from Get-CimInstance (this is name of the UPS connected to computer).

I read that Write-Host is outdatet, so I try to use for this Write-Information, but it wont work.

[pre]Write-Information -MessageData “Name:” (Get-CimInstance -ClassName Win32_Battery -Namespace root\CIMV2 | Select-Object -ExpandProperty Name) -InformationAction Continue[/pre]

When I use Write-Host It works flawlewssly.
[pre]Write-Host "Name: " (Get-CimInstance -ClassName Win32_Battery -Namespace root\CIMV2 | Select-Object -ExpandProperty Name)[/pre]

How to concatenate string and returned value in Write-Information?

Best Regards

It depends pretty much on what you are trying to accomplish. Write-Host is not outdated - it is actually inappropriate for most of the purposses it is used for. If you really just like to output it to the screen and if you’re not planning to use it further more - use Write-Host.

I prefer write output.

Write-Output -InputObject "Name: $(Get-CimInstance -ClassName Win32_Battery -Namespace root\CIMV2 | Select-Object -ExpandProperty Name)"

Hello Olaf, and thank you for reply :slight_smile:

At this time I only want to display message in console, but in the future I’ll try to log all displayed informations to file.

So thinking about future, Write-Information is better, or should I use Write-Host to display info to console, and then Add-Content to write it to file?

Hello kvprasoon :slight_smile:

I use your code with Write-Information and its working :slight_smile:

[pre]Write-Information -MessageData “Name: $(Get-CimInstance -ClassName Win32_Battery -Namespace root\CIMV2 | Select-Object -ExpandProperty Name)” -InformationAction Continue[/pre]

But to be honest, I don’t understand this syntax…