Windows 10 PowerShell Modules Question

I’m new to modules and am grouping all of my functions and advanced functions into modules but I don’t want all of them to load until i use them. My Modules folder located here, $home\documents\WindowsPowerShell\Modules has folders and psm1 files like this example: System\System.psm1. modules the main Modules folder are loading automatically into the console. I even removed my profile.ps1 file to test. Can someone educate me on what is happening and what I should do? What do you do?

Thanks,

Dave

What do you mean, “the main Modules folder are loading automatically?” How do you know they’re loading automatically?

Thanks for the reply. Ok let me run through this with a better description of what’s happening. I was rushed earlier and trying to quickly post this question while keeping two 2 year olds off of my lap.

So I have my powershell profile setup under: Documents\WindowsPowerShell\Modules\System folder, and a System.psm1 file in the System folder. I have no profile.ps1 file at the moment while testing this. I open the console and it’s a default console load. I type something to run from my system module. example: ‘computername’ | test-online | get-loggedonusers. I hit enter and it runs my function from the module. I thought I needed to import the module first before I could use it. I have nothing loading this module into the console but it’s loaded in. I do a remove-module system -verbose and it tells me it’s been removed. I clear-host and run the command again and it runs my module without errors. I’m not sure why it’s getting loaded when I want a clean console to open by default and then load and unload my modules as I need them. One thing I have done while testing is this. I rename the Modules folder to something different and the console opens clean and my script module doesn’t run the command. So do I need to use a custom path to keep modules from loading into the console if they are in the Modules folder?