When to place variables inside\outside of functions?

Hey all, I am relatively new to PowerShell and am trying to learn to use functions. What confuses me is variable scope. My brain constantly wrestles with the question of where to place variables. The same issue pops up with Scriptblocks as well to be honest. I’ve read the MS documentation regarding scopes but it’s still not ringing any bells for me. I also never see their examples in other peoples’ scripts (e.x. $script:variable). I am hoping someone can take my very incorrect code below and give me some real-world examples of how to properly do this. Here is my code (it’s for obtaining the Installation ID of Windows 7 and Server 2008 machines in a offline environment for Microsoft’s Extended Support activation):

function Get-InstallationID {
[cmdletbinding()]
param (
[string]$ComputerName = (Get-ADComputer -Filter { OperatingSystem -Like ‘Windows 7’ -or OperatingSystem -Like ‘Server 2008’ } -Properties OperatingSystem | Select-Object -ExpandProperty Name),
[string]$ProductKey = ‘22VMR-WVR6H-2H4CX-G2Y9M-R9RFW’, #This changes each year.
[string]$ActivationID = ‘553673ed-6ddf-419c-a153-b760283472fd’ #This changes each year.
)

#---------------------------------------------------------------------------------Install ESU Product Key if Not Already Installed---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

#Get current year.
$Year = (Get-Date -Format ‘yyyy’)
#Location of the ‘LicenseInfo.txt’.
$licenseinfo = “C:\LicenseInfo_$Year.txt”

#If ‘LicenseInfo.txt’ already exists, write to console’
if (-not(Test-Path -Path $licenseinfo)) {
try {
Invoke-Command -ComputerName $PC -ScriptBlock {
# NOTE: This Product Key needs to be updated each year & will be provided by the Infrastructure team.
cscript.exe C:\Windows\System32\slmgr.vbs /ipk $ProductKey