Validate Paramters users in a security group

Hello,

Let me start off by saying I am a super newb with power shell and orchestrator. I have been tasked with porting over an existing run book into a new environment. There is a section that is calling power shell to do a validation to make sure the user running the run book has permission. I want to be able to use 2 security groups “helpdesk” and “Infrastructure” instead of "User1, User2, etc…
Anytime there is turn over the code requires modification and its a pain.

$Adminuser = $env:UserName

function Validate-Parameters 
{ 
    [CmdletBinding()] 
    param( 
        [parameter(Mandatory=$true)] 
        [ValidateSet("User1","User2","User3,"User4")]
        [String] $Adminuser=""
          ) 
	Write-Output "Validation succeeded"
#    Write-host "Validation succeeded" 
} 
$cmd = "Validate-Parameters " 
if ($Adminuser -ne "") 
{ 
    $cmd += ' -Adminuser $($Adminuser)' 
} 
$Output = iex -Command $cmd

Also im not quite sure what the “$Output = iex -Command $cmd” is doing either. but its working so…

thanks in advance

Why don’t just configure the right permissions in Orchestrator? While I understand the code, it doesn’t make sense in my opinion to do it like this in Orchestrator. Check this blog post for some inspiration: https://blogs.technet.microsoft.com/manageabilityguys/2016/11/23/setting-system-center-orchestrator-runbook-operator-privileges/

Part of it is because I don’t understand orchestrator and have never worked with it. I’m just trying to replicate what we already have in a new environment, and make some improvements if there are opportunities. I think part of the reason is users don’t actually run the Runbook using orchestrator. They launch a powershell script and enter some variable, and the powershell script runs the runbook. This runbook is used to disable terminated users and remove them from groups, disable email etc…