Using Reg Add to Modify Default Value That Includes Spaces

Hi! This is my first time posting to this forum so hopefully I will not run afoul of any accepted practices on the forum.

I am trying to modify the value of a registry entry called (Default). I found an article from March, 2022 that claimed the (Default) value can only be modified using reg add. Following the example in that article, I was able to get the following command to work:

reg add HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\LSD\4\Server\NfoPath\EasyLaw10 /d "\\ServerName\FolderName" /f

However, when I modify that command to the following, it does not work:

reg add HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\LSD\4\Server\NfoPath\EasyLaw10 /d "\\ServerName\FolderName; C:\Program Files (x86)\Folder Name" /f

At the end of the day, the value of (Default) needs to end up as:

\\ServerName\FolderName; C:\Program Files (x86)\Folder Name

I have tried various combinations of single and double quotes and escaping the spaces, but just can’t quite get it. I assume that this is less an issue with PowerShell, and more an issue with not properly handling the spaces in the folder path. I am posting here because I am thinking PowerShell might have a better way to make this kind of change, and if not, at least someone here will probably know the answer.

Thanks in advance for any help that you can offer!

–Tom

The PowerShell commands I’ve used for registry stuff are Get-ItemProperty and Set-ItemProperty, try to stick to native commands if possible.

$regPath = 'HKLM:\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\LSD\4\Server\NfoPath\EasyLaw10'
$newValue = '\\ServerName\FolderName; C:\Program Files (x86)\Folder Name'
#Get the current value of (Default) in case you need a backup
$originalValue = Get-ItemProperty -Path $regPath -Name '(Default)'
#Set the new value, remove -WhatIf to actually perform the change
Set-ItemProperty -Path $regPath -Name '(Default)' -Value $originalValue -WhatIf

Thanks! I will give that a try.