Update managers for bulk AD users

by athreyatoo43 at 2013-01-29 23:21:11

Could someone please help me in updating the manager attribute from an excel file for multiple users using powershell.
i am very new to powershell, i just know that this task can be done by powershell but no idea how to do it.
my manager gave me a task of updating managers for 2500 users. please help
by Klaas at 2013-01-30 00:30:48
Can you show us the code you have so far, and explain what goes wrong or where you’re stuck?
by athreyatoo43 at 2013-01-30 03:36:22
I got the below code

$list = Import-Csv .\User-Manager.csv

$list | Foreach { $boss = Get-ADUser -Identity $.Manager ; Set-ADUser -Identity $.User -Replace @{manager=$boss.DistinguishedName} }

I have created a test CSV file called User-Manager whisch is attached.

>And when i run the above script i get the below error

The term ‘Get-ADUser’ is not recognized as the name of a cmdlet, function, script file, or operable program. Check the
spelling of the name, or if a path was included, verify that the path is correct and try again.
At line:1 char:37
+ $list | Foreach { $boss = Get-ADUser <<<< -Identity $.Manager ; Set-ADUser -Identity $.User -Replace @{manager=$bo
ss.DistinguishedName} }
+ CategoryInfo : ObjectNotFound: (Get-ADUser:String) [], CommandNotFoundException
by athreyatoo43 at 2013-01-30 03:37:59
This is my Test CSV file , attached
by Optimal at 2013-01-30 10:14:32
Import-Module ActiveDirectory
by athreyatoo43 at 2013-01-31 03:27:30
I get the below error when i run

PS P:&gt; cd c:<br>PS C:&gt; Import-Module ActiveDirectory
Import-Module : The specified module ‘ActiveDirectory’ was not loaded because no valid module file was found in any mod
ule directory.
At line:1 char:14
+ Import-Module <<<< ActiveDirectory
+ CategoryInfo : ResourceUnavailable: (ActiveDirectory:String) [Import-Module], FileNotFoundException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : Modules_ModuleNotFound,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.ImportModuleCommand