Universal Code Execution Model

Hello all,

I’m a noob/convert to PowerShell…

Trying to understand get more information on Universal Code Execution Model. Very few google search results on this subject, did find something by Jeffrey Snover but links unfortunately broken/old?

I believe UCEM allows me to create a script on a client/source host and then execute that script on a remote host using Invoke-Command, script is converted to script block? How does UCEM guarantee that script written on client/source host will run on a remote host, are there not any .Net (or even powershell) version requirements for both client/source and remote host please?

Many Thanks,

Colin,
Welcome to the forum. :wave:t4:

Is there a particular task you want to accomplish or a particular issue you have to solve?

I can’t remember ever hearing of “Universal Code Execution Model”. It might be the scientific fundation for the used technique but the term might not be used widely.

If you want to know how to run tasks on remote computers with PowerShell you should search for “PowerShell remoting”

Hi Olaf, Powershell is built ontop of .NET, powershell can be referred to as an application virtual machine? So I think the way it works is that when Invoke-Command is run to execute command on a remote computer, the cmdlet code is transferred to remote machine and run on remote machine, the remote computer then returns a serialized object that can be deserialized on any computer that doesn’t have associated cmdlet object. Its possibly comparable to java applet which requires a java runtime environment to decode and execute, build once execute anywhere idea…? I haven’t experimented with it but will when get a spare moment…

I still don’t get what your actual question is. :man_shrugging:t3:

Yes - PowerShell is - correctly configured - easily able to run commands on a remote computer. It is a very common task very often used, on a daily basis, for daily tasks.

You may start with reading the help for