Understanding ForEach loops and use variables

I am new to PowerShell and need to understand why this does not work:

This first example works the way I want.

Function Get-FileName($initialDirectory){  
 [System.Reflection.Assembly]::LoadWithPartialName(“System.windows.forms”) |
 Out-Null

$OpenFileDialog = New-Object System.Windows.Forms.OpenFileDialog
 $OpenFileDialog.initialDirectory = $initialDirectory
 $OpenFileDialog.filter = “All files (*.*)| *.*”
 $OpenFileDialog.ShowDialog() | Out-Null
 $OpenFileDialog.filename
} #end function Get-FileName

$Document = [xml]''
 Write-Host "Please select the Actual file."
 $ActualFile = Get-FileName -initialDirectory “$HOME\Downloads” # This function gets the file name of the file you want to create an object.

[ xml ]$Document = Get-Content $ActualFile

Foreach($TechRcrdId in $Document.BizData.Pyld.Document.SctiesFincgRptgTxRpt.TradData.Rpt.Err.TechRcrdId){
       Write-Host "TechRcrdId :" $TechRcrdId  
      }

This does not do what I want but I want to use a variable for the path.

$Document = [xml]''

Write-Host "Please select the Actual file."
 $ActualFile = Get-FileName -initialDirectory “$HOME\Downloads” # This function gets the file name of the file you want to create an object.

[ xml ]$Document = Get-Content $ActualFile
 $NodePath = "BizData.Pyld.Document.SctiesFincgRptgTxRpt.TradData.Rpt.Err.TechRcrdId"

Foreach($TechRcrdId in $Document.$NodePath){
      }

Kenneth,
Welcome to the forum. :wave:t3:

Before we proceed … could you please go back, edit your question once again and fix the formatting of your code?
When you post code, sample data, console output or error messages please format it as code using the preformatted text button ( </> ). Simply place your cursor on an empty line, click the button and paste your code.

Thanks in advance

How to format code in PowerShell.org 1 <---- Click :point_up_2:t4: :wink:

( !! Sometimes the preformatted text button hides behind the settings gear symbol. :wink: )