ToolMaking MOL chapter 16.2 question about switching to WMI

by etolleson at 2013-02-14 06:57:39

I am new to PS finished the book PV3 MOL and felt pretty good until now, I am letting myself get stuck on the "‘Switching to WMI’ section of 16.2 in the book ToolMaking MOL page 164" for some reason I am not able to get
Invoke-WmiMethod -Class Win32_OperatingSystem -Name REBOOT -ComputerName localhost to work I have tried several different things. I can get the Invoke-WmiMethod command to work with the help EXAMPLE 2 (notepad) in PS. I am having trouble understanding the error. I tried replacing the code in "listing 16.1" with this code and still no luck. Can you give me sugestions about Invoke-WmiMethod command and ways to troubleshoot the Error that I am receiving and having trouble deciffering fo rsome reason it is:
Invoke-WmiMethod : Invalid method Parameter(s)
At line:1 char:1
+ Invoke-WmiMethod -Class Win32_OperatingSystem -Name REBOOT -ComputerName localho …
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
+ CategoryInfo : InvalidOperation: (:slight_smile: [Invoke-WmiMethod], ManagementException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : InvokeWMIManagementException,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.InvokeWmiMethod
by etolleson at 2013-02-14 09:51:39
I found this to work but not really sure why and if it was what the author was suggesting
Get-WmiObject -Class win32_operatingSystem -ComputerName server | Invoke-WmiMethod -name REBOOT
if so great if not what should I have done. Trying to gain a better understanding of how to work with PS and WMI for older version of OS.
by MattG at 2013-02-14 16:36:43