Task Scheduler - powershell script submitted with drive maps

Hello,

I am new to powershell and have used it to run some file moves which need to happen every 5 minutes. To do this I have a ps1 script file and submit this from Windows task scheduler. In the script I setup the drive map with a “Net Use \drive\tobemapped\ username password”. I then move the files and close the drive map using “Net Use \drive\tobemapped /Delete /Yes”.

This all seems to work fine but I do have one question - when the task scheduler job runs does the drive map only exist within the scheduled job or does the mapping affect the server? so for instance while the job was running and it had mapped the drive could I then access the drive if I was logged onto the server without having to enter any user/password information.

I have not seen any information which states the mapping would only exist within the running jobs session and once the job completes the mapping would be ended.

Do any of you more experienced PS people know if this is the case?

That’s actually not a Powershell issue because you’re using a Windows system command line tool - “net.exe”. You could figure out by yourself. Start a cmd, run your “Net Use \drive\tobemapped\ username password”. Now open another cmd and try to access the share without username and password.

BTW: I’d recommend to use UNC paths instead of mapping drives. You could run the script in the task scheduler with the apropriate account information. That would even avoid to have the account information inside the script. I’d expect that to be much more reliable and robust. :wink:

Drive mappings are user specific so as soon as that user logs off the drive will not be attached.

In other words if you logged on as yourself and map a drive and you remote desktop as another user, that 2nd user will not see the drive that you mapped.