String concatenate not working

Hi Guys,

I’m trying to create Samaccountname based on the firstname and lastname in csv file.

$adusers.lastname.substring(0,4) with this command, I was able to get the first 4 letters from lastname and similarly was able to pull the first two letters from firstname.

This is our organization naming convention.

samaccount will start with U or V and followed by First 4 letters from last name and First 2 letters from first name. The csv will have a column that states employee type. If it is full-time employee, the sam ID should start with U. If any other category it should start with U.

e.g-> Wayne Rooney

UROONWA - Full Time

VROONWA - Part time or consultancy …etc

I’m very new to PowerShell any help will be greatly appreciated.

I ran the below cmd without $(), I got some error message. I used subexpression $() and after that, I got the below message

[string]::join('',$($adusers.lastname.substring(0,4)),$($adusers.firstname.substring(0,2)))

PS C:\Windows\system32> $($adusers.lastname.substring(0,4))
thir
Rona
mess

PS C:\Windows\system32> [string]::Concat($adusers.lastname.substring(0,4),$adusers.firstname.substring(0,2))
System.Object[]System.Object[]

Commands which I was trying:

$adusers.firstname
$adusers.lastname

$ADUsers = Import-csv "E:\thiru\Automation\sampleinput.csv"

$adusers.lastname.substring(0,4)
$adusers.firstname.substring(0,2)

[string]::join('',$($adusers.lastname.substring(0,4)),$($adusers.firstname.substring(0,2)))

[string]::Concat($($adusers.lastname.substring(0,4)),$($adusers.firstname.substring(0,2)))

I tried both join and concatenate,

This is the message I get:

PS C:\Windows\system32> [string]::join('',$($adusers.lastname.substring(0,4)),$($adusers.firstname.substring(0,2)))

PS C:\Windows\system32> [string]::Concat($($adusers.lastname.substring(0,4)),$($adusers.firstname.substring(0,2)))

PS C:\Windows\system32>

Please help

Thiru,