Stop-Dsc configuration which is running/stuck

Hello Team,

I am a newbie to DSC

I made a push server & created a script to install the softwares on client. It worked fine when i pushed 3 softwares but not added “Adobe Acrobat” as well to push in same script. Script never finished … looks like hung. I used CTRL+Break but if i check Get-dsclocalconfgurationmanager … status is Busy & I can’t run the script again… tried stopping it remotely using below command but it keeps running/executing… Please help

Stop-DscConfiguration -Force -CimSession servername

Have you tried to kill the Adobe Acrobat installation process (probably an msiexec process) remotely via Invoke-Command?

Invoke-Command -ComputerName lon6utinfint26 -ScriptBlock { Get-Process -Name msiexec | Stop-Process -Force }

Thanks for reply.

I am not seeing any msiexec process running on client.

Is there anyway I can stop LCM on client ?

You can try the following script with code borrowed from https://msdn.microsoft.com/PowerShell/DSC/troubleshooting

$ScriptBlock = {
    $dscProcessID = Get-WmiObject msft_providers | 
        Where-Object { $_.provider -like 'dsccore' } | 
            Select-Object -ExpandProperty HostProcessIdentifier 

Get-Process -Id $dscProcessID | Stop-Process
}

Invoke-Command -ComputerName lon6utinfint26 -ScriptBlock $ScriptBlock

Hi,

On the node, go to C:\windows\system32\configuration
and remove the pending.mof

I would recommend using Remove-DscConfigurationDocument cmdlet instead.

Remove-DscConfigurationDocument -Stage Pending

Hello Daniel,

I ran your script , it completed & asked mt stop WmiPervSE process & I did. But when i checked dsclocalconfigmanager after that, still state is showing Busy.

ActionAfterReboot : ContinueConfiguration
AllowModuleOverWrite : False
CertificateID :
ConfigurationDownloadManagers : {}
ConfigurationID :
ConfigurationMode : ApplyAndMonitor
ConfigurationModeFrequencyMins : 15
Credential :
DebugMode : {NONE}
DownloadManagerCustomData :