Starting DSC using WMF 5 - Setting company expectations

Hello PowerShell community. I’m looking for thoughts and feedback on the following scenario at work as we start to dive into DSC.

My management has bought into the promise of DSC. I’m glad for that (truly). But, the major kick-off to this effort was to hire in a consultant for 3-months, during which we: 1) learn version control, 2) build a server baseline in DSC, 3) build a test framework (pester), 4) Do this using an agile 2-week sprint methodology, 5) at the end, deliver base OS build config via the new DSC configs; 3 of us are working on this. (Another group is doing Linux-with-Chef). This is our FIRST adventure with DSC.

Issues I’ve run into: I can’t excel at all this simultaneously. [Not to mention I could not simply ‘unwind’ from existing work on a dime.] I’ve never worked in ‘software design’ sprints before and I find it constraining and challenging for my learning process which is low-and-slow. Additionally, we decided strategically to utilize WMF 5, which you know is not production ready yet; I’m working on class-based custom resources which don’t support pull server yet. But our program manager is selling this as production ready at the end of our consulting engagement in about a month. By example, when I hear how Steve Murawski built server configs in early DSC for Stack Exchange out of 6 or 7 resources, 15 composite configs, plus all the testing – and it took him over a year – I think there’s a disconnect with expectations and reality at my organization. Another common approach I’ve heard is, '‘pick something in your datacenter’ like what services should be running on servers, and use DSC for that, as a start. I’m working to get this feedback heard.