Splatting help needed

I am by no means a splatting expert. What I would like to do is clean this up using splatting (if possible) but am struggling to get it right.

$printData = Get-WinEvent -ComputerName $System -FilterHashTable $PrintFilter -ErrorAction Stop | Select-Object @{Label=‘EventID’;Expression={$.Id}}, TimeCreated,
Message, ProviderName, LogName, MachineName, @{Label=‘UserName’;Expression={(New-Object System.Security.Principal.SecurityIdentifier($
.UserId)).Translate([System.Security.Principal.NTAccount]).Value}}, TaskDisplayName

I have a fair number of these in the overall script with similar syntax. If someone can help me with this one, it will be a great help. I did not find much in a google search that helped.

Thanks.

I would use a PSCustomObject to manipulate the output instead of doing it on the fly via Select-Object as in:

$ParameterSet = @{
    ComputerName    = $System 
    FilterHashTable = $PrintFilter 
    ErrorAction     = 'Stop'
}
$myPrintdata = Get-WinEvent @ParameterSet | foreach {
    $Temp = New-Object System.Security.Principal.SecurityIdentifier($_.UserId)
    [PSCustomObject][Ordered]@{
        EventID         = $_.Id
        TimeCreated     = $_.TimeCreated
        Message         = $_.Message
        ProviderName    = $_.ProviderName
        LogName         = $_.LogName
        MachineName     = $_.MachineName
        UserName        = $Temp.Translate([System.Security.Principal.NTAccount]).Value
        TaskDisplayName = $_.TaskDisplayName
    }
}

Hmm… So - I don’t think ‘splatting’ is what you’re looking for. I think you’re wanting to clean up Select-Object, yes? If so, you need to clean up the -Property input. -Property takes an Object array, so we can throw Strings, hashtables, etc into it. Which means, our Select-Object -Property <Object> just needs an Array of Objects which has everything we want to select on, like:

# Test Example - Note changes to the Get-WinEvent command
$Props = @{n="EventID";e={$_.id}},