Single Characters (And Other Newbie Questions Probably)

Good morning,

I am brand new to PowerShell. I am currently working through the Beginner and Advanced courses over PowerShell on the MVA site. I just got through the very first “Getting Started with Windows PowerShell” videos, and I moved onto the first DSC video.

However, I keep getting lost on what single character(s) mean in PowerShell. For instance we ran this basic code:

get-dscresource -ov r | measure

I understand that the get command is looking for the DSC resources on my local machine. And that the | into measure is getting the number of entries. But I am not sure what the -ov and r means. I am pretty bad at these single characters and remembering what all they mean. Is there a easy command (or resource) I can use to see all the examples of these characters?

-ov stands for ‘-OutVariable’, basically putting the ouput in a variable called ‘r’

you can call it later by using ‘$r’

It’s a common paramter. about CommonParameters - PowerShell | Microsoft Docs

It’s a very neat technique to help you saving intermediate results when you do some research to solve a particular problem or to accomplish a particular task.

Get-Process -OutVariable A |
Where-Object -Property Company -Match -Value Microsoft -OutVariable B |
Where-Object -Property WS -GT -Value 100000000 -OutVariable C

$A
$B
$C

$A.Count
$B.Count
$C.Count

What the others haven’t mentioned, and I don’t know if you’re aware of it, is that the single characters can be used when PowerShell “knows” that there is only one possible parameter it could be.

For Example:

Get-Help Get-ChildItem -Ful” is the same as “Get-Help Get-ChildItem -Full

But “Get-Help Get-ChildItem -Fu” wouldn’t work, because “-fu”, could be either “Full” or “Functionality

If in doubt, use Tab Complete, and always always ALWAYS type out commands in full.