Send variable to Rename-Computer

Hello, I am new at Powershell. I would like to know if there is way to pass a value from a variable to rename a computer in Powershell. I am using Rename-Computer -Newname “ComputerName” statement. I know that if I put the computer name in quotation marks it works, however I would like to use a text box and use the text as the variable for the computer name. For example the variable of the textbox may be $textbox. The Powershell statement use would be Rename-Computer -Newname $textbox in script file. This does not work. How do I pass the value pf $textbox to the -Newname. Does anybody have any idea of how to work around this issue?

Hi, welcome to the forum :wave:

Firstly, when posting code in the forum, please can you use the preformatted text </> button. It really helps us with readability, and copying and pasting your code (we don’t have to faff about replacing curly quote marks to get things working).

As to your question, how are you generating your text box? Is it on a form, or just a popup?

If it’s a form, using the TextBox class, then you use the Text property e.g. $textBox.Text

First thank you for replying. Here is part of the code, please be aware that is it only part of the code to explain where I get the data from. The textbox is generated in as part a form.

Getting the department number is to be used as part of computer name

$DeptID = New-Object System.Windows.Forms.TextBox
$DeptID.Location = New-Object System.Drawing.Point(10,110)
$DeptID.Size = New-Object System.Drawing.Size(260,20)
$form.Controls.Add($DeptID)

Getting serial number to be used as part of the computer name

$SerialNumber = (Get-WmiObject -class win32_bios).SerialNumber

Concatenating department and serial number to be used as new computer name

the ‘-’ is used to separate department and serial number.

$NewComputerName = $DeptID.text + ‘-’ + $SerialNumber

Changing computer name

Rename-Computer -Newname $NewComputerName