Send mail with image from clipboard

Hello,

I am new to powershell and have recently alot experimented with sending emails using powershell. My latest objective was to send an email with a .png that is saved to the clipboard using the “printscreen”-button. I tried sending the image as a attachment, and when I do that I get a mail but no picture. I also tried sending an embedded image instead of a attachment, but I had no luck there either. Is it possible to send the picture that’s on the clipboard? If so, I would appreciate if anyone could help me with it.

Edit: Just for clarifications, I press the “printscreen”-button before I run the script so I have a image on clipboard.

Here is the code:

$Username = "mail";
$Password = "password";
$path = Get-Clipboard -Format Image;

function Send-ToEmail([string]$email, [string]$attachmentpath){

$message = new-object Net.Mail.MailMessage;
    $message.From = "mail";
    $message.To.Add($email);
    $message.Subject = "subject text here...";
    $message.Body = "body text here...";
    $attachment = New-Object Net.Mail.Attachment($attachmentpath);
    $message.Attachments.Add($attachment);

$smtp = new-object Net.Mail.SmtpClient("smtp.outlook.com", "587");
    $smtp.EnableSSL = $true;
    $smtp.Credentials = New-Object System.Net.NetworkCredential($Username, $Password);
    $smtp.send($message);
    write-host "Mail Sent" ; 
    $attachment.Dispose();
 }
Send-ToEmail  -email "to-mail" -attachmentpath $path;

… just an idea to maybe simplify your task. Instead of dealing with the clipboard you could press <Windows>+<Printscreen>. That will safe the screenshot as a file to your pictures folder. You could attach this to your email. It might be easier as well to use Send-Mailmessage instead of the Outlook method.